The Intel Extreme Masters Shenzhen survival guide

Intel Extreme Masters Season 10 is finally here! And, for the second time in a row, Shenzhen will mark the start of the season. Kicking it off will be StarCraft II followed by latest addition to the lineup Heroes of the Storm. Here we’ve gathered all the essential information in one place – check it out!

Key information

A handy summary of all the essential information about the event.

Participating teams and players

After the hard-fought global qualifiers, eleven players have already booked their ticket for Shenzhen with five more to follow in the open bracket.

StarCraft II

Race: Terran | Group: A | Nationality: Korean

Race: Terran | Group: A | Nationality: Korean

  • Open bracket player (TBC)*

Race: – | Group: A | Nationality:

  • Open bracket player (TBC)

Race: – | Group: A | Nationality:

Race: Zerg | Group: B | Nationality: Norwegian

Race: Protoss | Group: B | Nationality: Korean

Race: Protoss | Group: B | Nationality: Korean

  • Open bracket player (TBC)

Race: | Group: B | Nationality:

Race: Protoss | Group: C | Nationality: Korean

Race: Terran | Group: C | Nationality: Dutch

  • Jim

Race: Protoss | Group: C | Nationality: Chinese

  • Open bracket player (TBC)

Race: – | Group: C | Nationality:

  • XY

Race: Terran | Group: D | Nationality: Chinese

Race: Terran | Group: D | Nationality: Brazilian

Race: Protoss | Group: D | Nationality: Korean

  • Open bracket player (TBC)

Race: – | Group: D | Nationality:

*Jaedong has sadly had to cancel his trip to Shenzhen due to visa issues.

Heroes of the Storm

Check out the open bracket and group stage brackets right here.

Broadcast team

We are bringing the best StarCraft II commentators to Shenzhen in order to cover the open bracket and main stage of the Intel Extreme Masters.

The full talent lineup for the event is as follows:

Full schedule

Check out the complete overview of the Intel Extreme Masters Shenzhen schedule here!

Thursday, July 16th – StarCraft II open bracket

  • 9:30 to 16:00 China Standard Time (3:30 to 10:00 CEST): Open Bracket matches

Friday, July 17th – Group stages (main and backstage)

  • 9:15 to 12:45 China Standard Time (3:15 to 6:45 CEST): Group A matches
  • 11:45 to 17:05 China Standard Time (5:55 to 11:05 CEST): Group B matches

Saturday, July 18th – Group stages (main and backstage)

  • 9:15 to 12:45 China Standard Time (3:15 to 6:45 CEST): Group C matches
  • 11:45 to 17:05 China Standard Time (5:55 to 11:05 CEST): Group D matches

Sunday, July 19th – Quarterfinals, semifinals and grand final

  • 9:30 to 13:00 China Standard Time (3:30 to 7:00 CEST): Quarterfinal matches
  • 13:20 to 14:50 China Standard Time (7:20 to 8:50 CEST): Semifinal matches
  • 15:05 to 17:05 China Standard Time (9:05 to 11:05 CEST): Grand final match

Monday, July 20th – Heroes of the Storm

  • 9:15 to 11:45 China Standard Time (3:15 to 5:45 CEST): Semifinal – Virtus.pro vs. Newbee
  • 11:45 to 14:15 China Standard Time (5:45 to 8:15 CEST): Semifinal – Brave Heart vs. MVP Black
  • 14:30 to 17:00 China Standard Time (8:30 to 11:00 CEST): Grandfinal match

Prize money and WCS point distribution

The StarCraft II players at Intel Extreme Masters Shenzhen will play for a total prize pool of US$25,000 as well as valuable WCS ranking points. To see exactly how the 4,000 WCS points will be distributed, check out the table below:

1st place 750 points
2nd place 500 points
3rd-4th place 375 points
5th-8th place 250 points
9th-16th place 125 points
 
The Heroes of the Storm teams will have a shot at a US$5,000 first place. The complete prize pool distribution is as follows:
 
1st place US$5,000
2nd place US$3,000
3rd/4th place US$1,000

Social media

The fastest way to get the latest updates during the event.

For the Twitter accounts of the attending StarCraft II players and Heroes of the Storm teams, take a look at the participating players and teams section above!

Who’s your favorite to win the StarCraft II competition and what are you expecting from Heroes of the Storm in Shenzhen? Let us know via Twitter and Facebook.

Newsletter

Stay up to date

* indicates required


By clicking the "Subscribe" button, I consent to the processing of my personal data and tracking of my activity for marketing purposes, and I agree to receive marketing communications, including newsletters, raffles and surveys from ESL Gaming GmbH, in joint controllership with Dreamhack AB and ESL Gaming Online Inc., all around their products/services. I have read ESL Privacy Notice and I understand I can withdraw my consent at any time.

I understand Braze, a marketing platform, is being used. By clicking to subscribe, I acknowledge that my personal data will be transferred to Braze for processing. Learn more about Braze's privacy practices here.

Login at ESL & Partner

Chose the Account you want to login to play your favorite game